Nomination categories

Lady Ryder is a shining example of the passion, determination and inspiration that makes Yorkshire women great.

Sue Ryder was born in Leeds in 1924. She was an exceptional figure of the 20th century: a woman who dedicated her life to the relief of suffering. Her legacy lives on in the work of Sue Ryder Wheatfields Hospice and our 12 other care centres across the UK.

This year we have introduced two new exciting categories: Women in the Arts, and Women in Science and Technology.

Nomination categories

Woman of Achievement in Business

Nominees may have demonstrated achievement through starting and/or running their own business, have paved the way for other women as an employee within an organisation, or have had to overcome obstacles on the road to success. 

Woman of Achievement in Education

Nominees may be educators whose skills, commitment and encouragement have allowed others to achieve beyond expectations. Or they may have benefited from education in any form, possibly achieving against the odds

Young Achiever of the Year (aged 16 to 30 years old)

Nominees will have made an exceptional contribution in their sphere or local community. They will exemplify the best attributes of young people today. 

Jane Tomlinson Courage Award 

Nominees will have shown courage or determination in the face of adversity or personal difficulties. They will be an inspiration to others as a result of their actions or attitude.

Woman of Achievement in Sport

Nominees will have competed at the top of their field or inspired others by breaking boundaries in the world of sport. They may also have used their talents to coach others to achieve the best of their ability.

Community Impact Award

Nominees in this category may have made an outstanding contribution to their local community. This may have been achieved by fundraising, campaigning and raising the profile of a local charity.

Arts Category

Nominees in this category will have excelled in their sector of the Arts industry. This could be in areas such as music, theatre, dance, art and design or literature. This category also recognises the women who use their skills to contribute to the success and development of the arts in Yorkshire, but may not always be acknowledged. 

Science and Technology Category

This category recognises the women who have achieved great success in what is a male-dominated sector. Areas within this sector could include IT, engineering, research and development, environmental work and the manufacturing industry

The Yorkshire Rose Award

We also recognise women who have represented Yorkshire to an exceptional level and who we think should be celebrated here in their own county with our Yorkshire Rose Award.

At the 2016 event, our Yorkshire Rose Award was presented to the original calendar girls. From a simple idea to raise money for a local hospital by going nude for a calendar, the women of Rylstone and District Women's Institute not only struck a chord with us through their friendships, courage and stories, but they changed how we saw women of a certain age and made the Yorkshire county into a global sensation. They have raised over £3m for charity.

Book tickets for this event